¡Moda Española!

Or spanish fashion in english 😉

Hola followers!

Earlier today I was working on my spanish homework. One of my goals in life is to be able to speak spanish fluently. Since I am a Public Relations major, I hope that being bilingual will help me in my future job. I am also planning to study abroad in Spain this summer!

For today’s post, I decided to focus on Spanish fashion and change it up a bit! Traditional spanish fashion is very different from the United States.

These Flamenco dresses that the Spanish women take such pride in are called “Trajes de faraleas.” These dresses have many layers of ruffles in the skirt and sleeves that swish around as they walk.

The large shawl is called a manton.

The men have a distinct costume for bull riding known as the “traje corto.” This is a short jacket worn with highwaisted pants, a white shirt, coloured waistband and a wide brimmed hat known as the sombrero de alanche. 

These spanish outfits today are not worn by everyone. Many people in spanish countries dress similarly to the United States. These outfits shown above are part of their traditional fashion and used a lot today for festivals, religious gatherings, etc.

*All this information is from:
http://www.marbella-guide.com/traditional-spanish-dress/?doing_wp_cron=1351466289.1120290756225585937500

Leave a comment