Happy Halloween!

Boo! As I was getting ready to go out on Halloween night, I realized I was celebrating a holiday I didn’t know much about besides the fact that we get candy and dress up in crazy costumes. So my curiosity took me to Google where I researched the history of Halloween and found out some very interesting information.

Halloween’s origins date back to the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain. The Celts, who lived 2,000 years ago celebrated their new year on November 1. This day marked the end of summer and the harvest and the beginning of the dark, cold winter, a time of year that was often associated with human death. Celts believed that on the night before the new year, the boundary between the worlds of the living and the dead became blurred. On the night of October 31 they celebrated Samhain, when it was believed that the ghosts of the dead returned to earth.
(http://www.history.com/topics/halloween)

My favorite part of Halloween besides the candy is seeing all the creative costumes! I have a lot of pictures of my family and friends from Halloween night that I wanted to post because everyone’s costumes were great!

My two younger brothers dressed up in their Captain America and Hulk costumes with all their candy!

Me and my little sister in my sorority, Annaleigh, on Halloween night. I went dressed up as a cat and she went out as a hippie.

My sister Karleigh (left), my mom Maria (right), and my two younger brothers (front) dressed and ready for the annual neighborhood Halloween parade. My mom dressed up as Cleopatra and my sister was a devil.

Leave a comment